Political Times

Rajya Sabha race hots up in Odisha

Rajya Sabha race hots up in Odisha

The turf for Rajya Sabha nomination in Odisha is getting hot with the tenure of three incumbent MPs- AU Singhdeo, Dilip Tirkey and BJD supported AV Swami ending in April 2018.

Keeping in view its strength in terms of the number of legislators, the BJD is confident of bagging all the three seats. With diminishing chances of re-nomination of old members of the BJD, party sources feel new faces may be considered. Amongst the names doing the rounds include spokespersons Prashant Nanda and Rabi Nanda, BJD vice president Bimbadhar Kuanar and seasoned leaders like Munna Khan, Raghnath Mohanty and Umesh Swain.

“As I am in politics, I have every right to aspire for Rajya Sabha. No Muslim member is currently representing the State neither in Lok Sabha nor Rajya Sabha. I hope our party president Naveen Patnaik would consider me as an option,” Munna Khan said.

Political commentators feel the BJD supremo and chief minister Naveen Patnaik may spring a surprise and choose someone, beating popular expectations.

Comments (1)

  1. Funny. Who is this Munna Khan bringing religion into politics.

Comment here